Welcome to our newly elected Councillor Chris Jones

A warm welcome to Cllr Chris Jones who was elected on Thursday 23rd June 2022, Chris will represent the North Ward of Atherstone.

Ruby Chambers Sports Award 2021

Notice of vacancy in office of councillor

 Parish of Atherstone (North)



that due to the death of a Councillor, a vacancy has arisen in the Office of Councillor for the Parish Council.


If by 19 April, 2022 (14 days excluding Dies Non, after the date of this notice) a request for an election to fill said vacancy is made in writing to the Returning Officer at the address below by TEN electors for the said Parish, an election will be held to fill the said vacancy, otherwise the vacancy will be filled by co-option.


If an election is called, it will take place not later than 24 June, 2022.


Dated 28 March, 2022


Steve Maxey

Returning Officer

The Council House

South Street






Honorary Citizen 2022

Yvonne Stone – Honorary Citizen of Atherstone 2020 (pictured centre) with The High Sheriff of Warwickshire: The Lady Willoughby de Broke and Atherstone Town Mayor Cllr Mark Jordan.


Nominations are now open until 16th November 2021.

Do you know someone who deserves the award of Honorary Citizen of Atherstone 2022?

The Town Council would be interested to hear from you with the names and details of individuals who volunteer their time for the good of the community of Atherstone and who have done so for a number of years.

The award is to be decided by resolution of the full Town Council at the meeting on November 17th 2021 with an Awards Ceremony in the Spring 2022.

Written nominations must be made through one of the Town Councillors and received no later than Midday on Tuesday 16th November 2021.

See website www.atherstone-tc.gov.uk  or contact the Town Council directly 01827 720829 for further information about how to nominate and for a copy of a nomination form.


Allotment Award Winners 2021

Atherstone Town Council Allotment Awards were presented at the Town Council on Wednesday 20th October 2021.

The Town Council manages two allotment sites in the Atherstone, one on Gypsy Lane and one on Bracebridge Road.

Over 150 tenants are eligible to enter the annual allotment awards and once again the standard of entries was very high.

List of Winners Merevale Allotments:

First Prize Full Plot – Stephen Ford Plot 15

Second Prize Full Plot – Sue Hollyoake Plot 25

First Prize Half Plot – Lee Jones Plot 65

Second Prize Half Plot – Kim Van Turner Plot 37

Best Newcomer – Christine Lamond Plot 39a


List of Winners Gypsy Lane Allotments:

First Prize Full Plot – Mr Knight Plot 8

Second Prize Full Plot – Mr and Mrs Lakin Plot 41

First Prize Half Plot – Mr David Bartlam Plot 24b

Second Prize Half Plot – Mr and Mrs Gibson Plot 19a

Best Newcomer – Mrs Janet Bell Plot 10a


Community Thankyou Event

Sunday 8th August 2021 – from 1pm to 4pm at Atherstone Sports Club

(Cricket Ground) on Ratcliffe Road, Atherstone.

The event is a long awaited official “Thankyou” to all of the 70+ strong Community Volunteer Team that were part of supporting every household in Atherstone Parish throughout the Covid-19 Pandemic.

The intention is an event open to the entire community with the chance to thank all who volunteered, as well as a chance for those who shielded and were helped in any way to come along and join in. There will also be an opportunity to reflect on those still affected by the Pandemic or who sadly lost loved ones. The primary aim though is an uplifting experience and a chance to re-connect families and friends in a relaxed environment.

The event is scheduled to be outdoors at the Cricket Ground and the Clubhouse will be open to non- members on the day for buying drinks, ice-creams and a hog roast.

There are accessible toilet facilities on site with limited parking nearby.

Anyone from the community is welcome to come along and bring their own picnic food and enjoy some of the planned entertainment which so far includes Anchor Radio, Singer Rick Neal and performers First Class Stamp.

If you would like to know any more about the event please contact:

Sally Oldham on 01827 720829  –


Atherstone Proposed Parking Order

Subject: Have Your Say – Proposed Parking Order 2021

Response extended to 21st August 2021 at 5pm.


Dear Parish/Town Councils

North Warwickshire Borough Council are proposing to introduce a new parking order for their car parks, which includes charging for parking in some of the car parks.

The proposals will be advertised in the Tamworth Herald on Thursday 8 July. Notices will also be displayed at each car park indicating the effects of the order on those car parks and on the Councils website.

Please see the Notice of Proposals and plans showing the effects to the car parks attached.

Further details may be seen on the Councils website at www.NorthWarks.gov.uk.

If you have any comments or objections, please send them to me by 5.00pm on Friday 21st August, 2021


Keith Evans

Engineering & Parking Manager


North Warwickshire Borough Council

Creative Giants

Creative Giants have teamed up with Warwickshire County Council & your local Council to reinvigorate local parks and town spaces. As part of their research they would like you to answer this fun survey (or go to https://creativegiants.art/our-spaces/ and press the red button) to help them put together an exciting new art project across towns in Warwickshire.

Artists and designers will then be invited to reimagine public spaces across the county and create an art installation for the towns.

Don’t Delay – complete today and have your say!
Just click on the link below to go to their website.

Welcome to the new Town Councillors

Atherstone Town Council welcome four new Councillors in May 2021

Cllr Stacey Wightman – South Ward

Cllr Martin Barnett – Central Ward

Cllr Pauling Gurney – Central Ward

Cllr Derek Pickard – Central Ward


Their full contact details will be updated on the Councillor page shortly, in the meantime if you wish to contact them please email the Clerk on



Annual Parish Meeting Wednesday 28th April 2021

The Annual Parish Meeting will be held via Zoom on Wednesday 28th April 2021 at 6:30 pm

Agenda to follow